Cold Day at Lake Waramaug

We rode yesterday, just two of us. The fellow I rode with is the most experienced cyclist I know, a guy who’s ridden since the early ‘70s. Today, he’s retired and logs about 4 thousand miles a year on a variety of bikes. I like riding with him – He’s personable, good-willed, knows more about cycling (and a bunch of other stuff) than I do, and we at one time worked for the same employer. Here’s a guy who’s 12 to 15 years older than me who’s still a strong rider. He gives me hope. And so it was a pleasant ride, despite the fact it was in the mid-20s and windy. At least it was sunny, and I felt what would be strong for September, which translates to freakin’ awesome on Groundhog Day.

The cold wasn’t bad for the first 15 miles. We were mostly climbing and the wind was mostly behind. But the bill for the tail wind came due when we made the turn for home down the east shore of Lake Waramaug. Cooled by its mile journey across the lake ice, the wind came from the right side and made it tough to hold a line. I regretted removing my over-gloves to cool my hands on an earlier climb. My fingers started to hurt, which soon evolved to numb and useless. I could have stopped and put the gloves back on, but our coffee stop was just a mile up the road and I knew those fingers would be stinging with life in minutes as they wrapped around a hot paper cup.  Once there, we sat at a table in the sun, two gray-hairs dressed in tights and garish green. The other patrons looked and drew their conclusions.

Back outside, my sweat-soaked balaclava and gloves sucked away any heat I’d regained in the coffee shop. Without a word, both of us hit the next leg of the ride hard right from the parking lot. In warmer weather, we pace-line this 5 miles down the narrow shoulder of US 202 at 25 plus. Yesterday, the headwind dropped our average to something closer to 15 mph. I spun my cadence up around 100 rpm, and felt it drop down into the 80s more than once with gusts. Turning onto the relative shelter of Paper Mill Road with just a few miles to go, we rode companionably side by side, happy with the hard effort on 202 that had warmed us back up, glad to have laid down some winter miles.

About swampyankeecyclist

I'm Andy Engel, just a middle-aged, middle-class guy from Roxbury, Connecticut. I've been married to my best friend since 1988, and we have two grown sons. I like riding bikes, and my biggest accomplishment is the 180K D2R2. I own 5 bikes but my go-to rides are a 2016 GT Grade gravel and commuter bike and a 2016 Specialized 650b hardtail mountain bike. Additionally, I have a 2000-something carbon-fiber Orbea road bike, a 1990-something Specialized Sirrus that's my old dirt and commuter bike and which now serves as a spare and a trainer bike, and a 1985 Ross Mount Hood MTB. All but the 650b have Brooks saddles. I work from home now, but used to commute 32 miles round trip to work by bike year round. I was a carpenter and still love building things, but regular paychecks, insurance, and vacation time lured me into journalism. I've written a couple of books on carpentry, and I've been an editor at Fine Homebuilding, Fine Woodworking, and Professional Deck Builder magazines. Currently, I manage construction events at the JLC Live and Remodeling Show trade shows. Additionally, my wife and I run Transylvania Guest House, an Airbnb. Find us on Instagram. Come stay with us and I'll show you some great cycling.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment